Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Tharp, Chapman Get Figure 8 Wins

(July 30, 2011) – Two drivers that have been running at the front of the pack in recent weeks in Figure-8 action at Anderson Speedway, each scored feature wins Saturday during Holiday Inn Express night.

Josh Tharp made it three wins in a row, including last week’s Best Way Disposal National Crown, led from start to finish in the rain delayed feature event from May 14. He was chased the entire distance by Jeff Swinford, Curtis Chapman, James Peterson and Rodney Millner.

In the regular feature event, Chapman gave himself an early birthday present, by leading wire to wire for the victory.

Through the first half of the race Chapman led a chain of cars led by Mike Phipps, Tharp, Millner, Ronnie Rose and Jeff Swinford. All six drivers were waiting for someone to make a mistake to gain positions.

Millner moved outside of Rose on lap nine in turn one, but two laps later spun in turn three.

At the finish it was Chapman winning by a comfortable 4-seconds over Phipps and Tharp. Rose, Swinford rounded out the top five.

Heat wins went to Phipps and Swinford.