Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Poore Scores EDCO Welding Street Stock Win; Warner Gets WMDH ThunderCar Victory

(July 30, 2011) – Josh Poore returned to the winner’s circle in the EDCO Welding Street Stock Division at Anderson Speedway on Saturday leading 23 of the 30 laps.

Poore got inside of early leader Jacob McElfresh with an inside move entering turn three and held onto the point through two restarts, but he was never able to pull away from the remainder of the field.

The first of two caution flags waved on lap 14 when Rob Allman and Josh Myers tangled coming off the fourth corner while the two were running fourth and fifth. Allman suffered a flat tire and Myers spun on the back straight after contact with Allman.

On the restart Rose got inside of McElfresh entering turn one to move into second, but four laps later slowed, bringing out the second caution for fluid on the track.

From there Poore was able to hold off McElfresh by .89-seconds followed by Jimmy Kirby, Tyler Marsh and Herald Bulletin fast qualifier JP Crabtree.

Earlier this season Poore had a streak of eight consecutive wins dating back to 2010, but has not visited victory lane for several weeks.

“We’ve been in a bad streak lately after winning eight in a row,” he said.

Nick Warner dominated the WMDH ThunderCar feature leading the entire distance and beating Hannah Lundy by 2.9 seconds.

Early in the race Warner, who was the fast qualifier on Holiday Inn Express Night, was chased by Lonny Burton and Lundy. Burton slowed suddenly on lap seven with a flat right rear tire.

Following Warner and Lundy to the finish were Sam Folsom, Frankie Oakes and Rob Noel.

Noblesville’s Josh Tharp won the rained out Figure-8 feature from May 14 leading the entire distance followed by Jeff Swinford, Curtis Chapman, James Peterson and Rodney Millner. It was Tharp’s third consecutive win in the division.

In the regular feature event, Curtis Chapman led a chain of six cars around the Figure-8 course as each driver was waiting for the other to make a mistake.

Chapman was chased early by Mike Phipps followed by Rose, Millner and Tharp. On lap Milliner went outside of Rose to move into the third spot in turn one and two laps later he spun in turn two.

With Chapman pulling away from the field after the halfway point, Phipps held off Tharp and Rose with Swinford a close fifth.

At the checkers it was Chapman with Phipps coming home in second followed by Tharp, Rose and Swinford. The win was Chapman’s fourth of the season.

Donnie Ellis Jr. went on to record an easy win in Figure-8 action for the Front Wheel Drive division when fast qualifier Chris Teepe suddenly slowed on lap five.

With Teepe running at a reduced pace, Kevin Henson moved into second on lap seven with an inside move coming down the front straight.

Ellis went on to record his first regular feature victory of the season followed by Henson, Teepe, James Frawley and Elliott McKinney.

On Monday, August 1, the SealWrap Redbud 300 presented by Hoosier Park Racing & Casino, Great Deals Savings Magazine and Ed Martin Toyota will feature the CRA Super Series Late Models stars along with Ken Schrader, Chase Elliott, Ross Kenseth and Ryan Blaney. NASCAR rising star Brad Keselowski will sign autographs prior to the racing action.