Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Poore Returns to Winner's Circle, Crabtree Sets Quick Time

(July 30, 2011) – After dominating the early stages Josh Poore was the driver to beat in the EDCO Welding Street Stock division, but after not winning for several weeks he claimed victory on Saturday.

With half the field inverted for the feature event, Jacob McElfresh started from the pole position and led the early stages of the race chased by Tyler Marsh and Poore.

Marsh was running the high side when Poore slipped underneath down the back straight and a lap later Ronnie Rose slipped inside coming off the second corner. Marsh continued to be caught on the outside with Rob Allman and Josh Myers slipping past.

Poore closed on McElfresh and on the seventh circuit used a strong run down the back straight to take the lead entering turn three. McElfresh stayed glued to Poore’s rear bumper with Allman and Myers battling for the fourth spot.

Allman and Myers tangled coming off the fourth corner on lap 12 with Allman suffering a flat tire and then got loose on the back straight, tapping Myers who spun to the infield.

Rose moved inside of McElfresh on lap 14 entering the first corner to move into the second spot, just like a week ago Rose suffered a transmission problem and exited the race after 18 laps.

At the finish it was Poore winning by .8-seconds over McElfresh with Jimmy Kirby, Tyler Marsh and J.P. Crabtree rounding out the top five.

“We’ve had a bad streak lately after winning eight in a row,” Poore said.

Tyler Marsh led the entire distance to win the first of two heat races. He was first chased by McElfresh, who was passed by Poore on the fourth circuit.

Following Marsh and Poore to the checkers were Rose, McElfresh and Allman.

The second heat win went to Steve Raper Jr. taking the lead on the first lap after spinning along with TJ Flynn on the first attempt at a start.

Raper was followed at the finish by Kirby, Chris Isenhower Sr., Frankie Oakes and Missy Perry.

For the first time in his career, Muncie driver Crabtree set fast time during Herald Bulletin qualification. He turned a lap at 14.064 seconds to best Todd Marsh by .054-seconds and Allman, who was .087-seconds off the pole speed.