Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Inaugural Willy's Race Debuts on Saturday

(August 11, 2011) – Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, August 13 with the inaugural Willy’s Race featuring the Late Model division in a 100-lap event awarding $3,000 to the winner. The WMDH ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s will also be part of the program.

Willy’s Race honors fallen racer William Mefford who was fatally injured during a racing action on Saturday, May 21. Motion Motors presents Willy’s Race and the event has also received sponsorship from Norrick Petroleum, Anderson RentAll, PGG, Tri-County Plumbing, Claborn Auto Sales and Thompson Builders.

The Late Models have been in action on seven occasions in 2011 with Terry Cater and Keith Sterkowitz the only repeat winners. Single event victories this season include William Mefford, Jason Atkinson and Kevin Clayborn. In the point standings, Cater sits atop the point standings with Randy Hoppes ranked in second spot.

The WMDH ThunderCars will continue their great battle with Hannah Lundy and Lonny Burton battling it out for the championship. Lundy has earned two feature victories and nine top-five finishes while Burton has tailed three feature wins and eight top 10s. The remainder of the top five includes Rob Allman, Ronnie Rose and Frankie Oakes.

Chris Teepe holds a comfortable advantage in the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s with a 119 point lead over Elliott McKinney. Third is most recent winner Donnie Ellis Jr. with Harry LaShure and Trevin Henson completing the top five.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.