Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Warner Dominates Figure 8 Action; Tharp Posts Quick Time

(August 20, 2011) – Noblesville driver Josh Tharp saw his string of four consecutive feature victories in the Figure-8 division snapped Saturday at Anderson Speedway by Nick Warner.

During Herald Bulletin qualifying it appeared that Tharp was going to continue his winning ways when he posted the fast time of the night with Michael Phipps and Jeff Swinford close behind.

In the feature event, Warner jumped into the lead while Tharp and Curtis Chapman battled for the second position for most of the 25-lap event.

With Warner pulling away, Tharp looked for a way to get past Chapman time and again either entering turn one on the outside or attempting to gain the advantage going down the front straight.

Tharp did pass Chapman with an inside pass entering turn three on lap 22 but by then Warner had pulled away to comfortable lead.

At the checkers Warner finished 3.1-seconds ahead of Tharp followed by Chapman, Swinford and Ranny Hinton.

It marked a reversal of recent Figure-8 action where the lead pack finished in close quarters.

Warner won the heat race by a half-second over Chapman followed by Swinford, Tharp and Hinton.