Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Nuckles Wins a Thriller; Donahue, Elliott Get Heat Victories

(August 20, 2011) – In a tune-up for next week’s Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial for the Legends Division, Ohio driver Bryan Nuckles won a tight battle with Taylor Webb to record the feature win at Anderson Speedway on Gold and Coin of Indiana night.

Webb took the lead from Nuckles on lap nine with an inside move entering turn three and the two drivers battled for the top spot the rest of the distance.

Nuckles looked high and low for a way to retake the lead and finally on the next to last circuit was able to slip inside of Webb coming off the second corner and complete the pass in turn three. Webb didn’t give up easily and tried to return the favor, coming up .210-seconds short.

John Robbins, Jack Dossey Jr. and Angela Donahue rounded out the top five.

Donahue took the early lead but since she choose to run the high line it allowed a succession of competitors to slip underneath for position starting with Nuckles, Webb, Robbins and Dossey.

Aaron Holden wrestled the fifth position away from Donahue on lap 12 with an inside move entering turn three. Donahue then changed her racing line and on lap 18 was able to take the position back with an inside pass.

Donahue led the entire distance to win the first of two heat races chased for the final four laps by Nuckles and Webb. Robbins and Dossey rounded out the top five.

In the second heat race, Tom Elliott passed Chris Weddle for the top spot at the halfway point and went on to record the victory. Paul Holden passed Weddle on lap seven with an inside move coming off the fourth corner.

Marty Griffin was awarded third and Mark Dietzen and Matt Erich rounded out the top five when Weddle was disqualified for failing to go through post-race technical inspection.