Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Sterkowitz Claims Sportsman Win; Moyes Repeats in Fritz/Dietzen Memorial

(August 27, 2011) – Keith Sterkowitz only led two laps, but they were final laps of the Champion Racing Association’s Sportsman feature Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

New Castle’s Jason Atkinson took the lead on the second lap and held off Sterkowitz and Terry Cater through 11 double-file restarts. But on lap 74 Sterkowitz got inside of Atkinson entering turn three and grabbed the top spot.

With Atkinson drifting high, Terry Cook went inside to claim the second spot. Chad Richardson and Charlie Hanna rounded out the top five.

Most of the cautions were for one or two car incidents, which saw the yellow flag wave nine times through the first 34 laps of the 75-lap feature.

The race was red flagged on the opening lap when leader Danny Trent spun coming off the fourth corner, aided by a bump. With Trent stopped on the front straight the cars of Rich Segvich and David Campbell were collected. Segvich was the only driver unable to continue.

Tennessee driver David Moyes III continued his dominance in the annual Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial race for the Legends division scoring his fourth consecutive win.

Moyes set fast time during Herald Bulletin qualifying and led all 100 laps to capture the 15th annual running of the race. He was pressured for the first 70 laps by Aaron Moyer.

Moyer appeared to lose the rear brakes on his car, but was able to maintain contact with Moyes. Frankton driver John Robbins slipped past Moyer on a restart on lap 57, bit four laps later the two reversed position.

Moyer had one final chance to take the lead when the caution came out on lap 97. But once again Moyes was able to pull away to the victory.

At the checkers it was Moyes, Moyer, Robbins, Vince Bartolotta and Tony Holden, the only cars running on the lead lap. The race was slowed five times by cautions, four of them for single car spins.

“I thought I was running clear,” Moyes said. “All of a sudden he (Moyer) was banging on my bumper. It was a good thing the caution came out because my rear view mirror fell off. I was able to replace it on the caution.”

In WMDH Thunder Car action, Rob Allman took the lead on the opening lap with a nice move from the second row followed by Rob Noel and Lonny Burton.

On the second circuit, Noel and Ronald Adams got together entering turn two with both cars spinning to a stop. It was the only caution period in the 25-lap feature.

Hanna Lundy, who set a new track record during Herald Bulletin qualifying got inside of Burton entering turn three to take the second spot. From there Lundy closed on Allman but was unable to make the pass, finishing .265-seconds behind.

For Allman it was the second feature win of the season. Lundy, Burton, Ryan Buckner and Noel rounded out the top five.

Jeff Williams returned to victory lane in oval action for the Front Wheel Drive division, but he had to hold off a late charge by his nemesis of recent weeks, Jerry Dane.

Williams jumped into the lead with Dane claiming the second spot with an inside pass of Trevin Henson entering turn three.

From there Dane started off in pursuit of Williams, who saw a healthy lead evaporated when he encountered lapped traffic. On the final lap Williams was stuck behind slower cars which allowed Dane to close.

At the finish Williams recorded his eighth feature win of 2011 with Dane coming home in second, almost four-tenths of a second behind. Trevin Henson finished third followed by Kevin Harmon and Elliott McKinney.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, September 3 with the U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills. Featured events will include the IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, School Bus Figure 8’s, Culver Trailer Race, Cork Screw Race and Backwards Race.