Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Bedell Claims IOFS Victory; Teepe, Dane Score Wins

(September 3, 2011) – Charlie Hargraves appeared headed to the victory in the International Outlaw Figure-8, but it all went away with three laps remaining.

Hargraves made heavy contact with the fifth place running Preston Maxwell Jr. at the crossover, which gave the lead and victory to Gary Bedell on the U.S. Air Force sponsored Night of Thrills at Anderson Speedway.

Hargraves climbed from the seventh starting position to take the lead on the eighth circuit with an inside pass Johnny Hargraves on the front straight. Bedell moved into the second spot on lap 18.

Several times Charlie Hargraves opened up a comfortable lead, but watched it disappear as action in the crossover was wild at times with most drivers not slowing to maintain momentum and position.

Bedell spun with help from Chuckie Hargraves on the 39th lap, but was awarded back his position while Hargraves was sent to the tail of the field.

Bedell was followed to the checkers by Johnny Hargraves, the only drivers on the lead lap.

There were only seven of the 14 cars running at the finish of the race which was slowed by six cautions. The last caution flag waved with three laps remaining when Jeff Hizer had a mechanical problem while running third.

Chris Teepe took the lead from Nick Warner on the fifth lap coming to the start/finish line using an inside move to take the point. Warner had to exit the track through the gate or would have made contact with the outside retaining wall.

Tepee went on to win followed by Donnie Ellis Jr., Elliott McKinney, Trevon Henson and Zachary Kendall.

It was Tepee’s fifth feature win of the year.

“It’s nothing but a war out there from the start of the season,” Teepe said of the pass of Warner. “There was a slower car not paying attention to the flagman and there was nowhere to go.”

Jerry Dane dominated Front Wheel Drive Oval action after taking the lead on the second lap from Paul Phipps. From there Dane opened a lead of almost a full straight away to win his fourth feature of the year.

Ron Phipps moved into the second spot on lap two with an inside pass of Paul Phipps, but was unable to keep pace with Dane. Don Galliher finished third followed by Paul Phipps and John Davis Sr.

Donnie Ellis III won the backwards race, and Nick Warner made it two consecutive wins in the Cork Screw race.

Randy Owen led the entire distance to win the School Bus Figure-8 action, Mike Irwin finished second followed by Jeff Reichart. The popular Culver’s Trailer Race victory went to Kokomo’s Gary Bragg Jr., who lost the boat on his trailer, but didn’t shed the trailer to record the victory.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, September 10 with the Cooper’s Sport Bowl Family Night. The Willy’s Race presented by Motion Motors will be featured with the Late Models. Other divisions in action include Figure 8’s, WMDH ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drive Oval and Front Wheel Drive Figure 8's.