Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Cooper's Sport Bowl Family Night Features Inaugural Willy's Race Honoring William Mefford

(September 8, 2011) – Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, September 10 with Cooper’s Sport Bowl Family Night showcasing the inaugural Willy’s Race featuring the Late Model division in a 100-lap event awarding $3,000 to the winner. The racing program will also include Kids Bicycle Races, Figure 8’s, WMDH ThunderCars, Front Wheel Drives on the Oval and Figure 8.

Willy’s Race honors fallen racer William Mefford who was fatally injured during racing action on Saturday, May 21. Motion Motors presents Willy’s Race and the event has also received sponsorship from Norrick Petroleum, Anderson RentAll, PGG, Tri-County Plumbing, Claborn Auto Sales and Thompson Builders.

The Late Models have been in action on eight occasions in 2011 with Terry Cater and Keith Sterkowitz the only repeat winners. Single event victories this season include William Mefford, Jason Atkinson and Kevin Clayborn. In the point standings, Cater sits atop the point standings with Randy Hoppes ranked in second spot.

Curtis Chapman sits atop the Figure 8 standings with a 60 point margin over Josh Tharp. The two championship contenders have posted dominant seasons with both drivers winning four feature events apiece through the opening 11 races. Third is Jeff Swinford with James Peterson in fourth place and Bruce McFall completing the top five.

The WMDH ThunderCars points race continues to be a great battle with Hannah Lundy and Lonny Burton battling it out for the championship. Lundy has earned two feature victories and 10 top-five finishes while Burton has tailed three feature wins and nine top 10s. The remainder of the top five includes most recent feature winner Rob Allman, Rob Noel and Ronnie Rose.

In the Front Wheel Drive Oval division, Jeff Williams paces the division with eight feature wins and ranks in first position over Trevin Henson. The remainder of the top five includes Ron Phipps, Paul Phipps and Marshall Clark.

Chris Teepe holds a comfortable advantage in the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s with Elliott McKinney ranked in the second spot. Third is two-time feature winner Donnie Ellis Jr. with Harry LaShure and Trevin Henson completing the top five.

Does your child wish to race at Anderson Speedway? Here is their opportunity. This Saturday, September 10th, during Cooper's Sport Bowl Family Night, Anderson Speedway will be having Bicycle races at 7:30. There will be four different divisions including Children under 5, 5-6 year olds, 7-8 year olds and 9-12 year olds. Bring your bike and helmet just inside the front gate to register. Come join the fun on Cooper's Sports Bowl Family Night!

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.