Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dane Continues Hot Streak; Williams, Owen Get FWD Heat Wins

(September 12, 2011) – Noblesville driver Jerry Dane continued his hot streak in oval action for the Front Wheel Drive Division recording his fourth feature win in the past five races on Cooper Sport Bowl Family Night at Anderson Speedway.

Dane set fast time during Herald Bulletin qualifications, then battled with Paul Phipps during the first half of the feature event before scoring a convincing win.

Phipps took the early lead with Dane and second fast qualifier Jeff Williams starting in the fifth row after the inversion. By lap six Dane and Williams were running in the top five. Dane took the lead on the ninth circuit with an inside pass of Phipps, who was trapped behind a slower competitor on the front straight.

But on the next circuit, Phipps took advantage of the slower traffic to move back to the point entering turn three with an outside pass. Behind the two front runners Trevin Henson and Williams battled for the third spot.

Near the halfway point Dane used an inside pass to reclaim the lead from Phipps. Williams passed Henson for third on lap 14and on the next lap got inside of Phipps entering turn three to move into second.

Henson passed Phipps on the 17th lap with an inside move entering turn three and on the final lap Ron Phipps passed Paul entering turn one.

At the checkers it was Dane winning by 2.8-seconds over Williams, followed by Henson, Ron Phipps and Paul Phipps. Ron Phipps was disqualified following the tech inspection which gave fifth place to Randy Owen.

There was plenty of action in the first of the two heat races with Paul Phipps again taking the early lead chased by Harry LaShure.

Williams moved into the top five with an outside pass of Jimmy Wyman on the second lap and by the sixth circuit took the lead from Phipps on the back straight.

At the finish it was Williams, Trevin Henson, Phipps, Wyman and Dane.

Randy Owen passed Brian Slavey on lap eight on the front straight to win the second heat race. Early leaders Marshall Clark and Jeff Hopkins were both black-flagged for turning laps quicker than their qualifying times.

At the finish it was Owen, Slavey, Tony Hackney, Ricky Craig and James Frawley. Hackney was disqualified following the race which allowed Andrea Williams to record a top five finish.