Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Late pass gives Ellis FWD Figure 8 victory

(September19, 2011) – It used to be when Nick Warner got to the front of the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 race the outcome was determined, but that was not the case on Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

Warner jumped into the early lead for the feature event chased closely by Elliott McKinney and Blake Zirkle.

The complexion of the race changed on lap nine when Zirkle, running third at the time, was collected in the cross-over by Trevon Henson. It marked the end of the night for both drivers.

But on the restart, Don Ellis Jr. lined up on the outside of the second row and used an inside pass to get around McKinney for second. On the 14th lap, Ellis got inside of Warner entering turn one and made the pass for the lead.

Warner and Chris Teepe got together with Warner suffering a flat tire and lost two more positions.

Following Ellis to the checkers was McKinney, Teepe, Warner and James Frawley.

In the first heat race Ellis passed Warner on the outside going down the front straight on the fifth lap to record the victory. Warner took the early lead with Ellis running a close second. Randy Owen and McKinney ran in the third and fourth positions the early race with Teepe coming home in fifth.

The second heat win went to James Frawley, who led the entire distance, followed at the finish by Harry LaShure, Zachary Kendall, Kevin Harmon and Henson.