Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

One Point Separates Tharp, Chapman Heading Into Figure 8 Season Championship; Late Models, Street Stocks, ThunderCars and Front Wheel Drive Tittles to be Settled

(September20, 2011) –  Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, September 24 with the ED Martin Toyota Season Championships featured on the high-banked quarter-mile oval. Showcased events include Late Models, Figure 8’s, EDCO Welding Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars along with Front Wheel Drives on the Oval and Figure 8.

The closest battle for a season championship entering the season finale is the Figure 8 division where Josh Tharp now leads Curtis Chapman by a single point. Tharp has been on a roll lately scoring five feature victories in the last seven events. Chapman has posted four victories and 13 top-five performances. Third is Jeff Swinford with James Peterson and Nick Warner rounding out the top five.

In the Late Model division, Terry Cater has constructed a comfortable margin over Randy Hoppes. Third is Brett Robinson with Brandon Mefford ranked in fourth position.

Josh Poore looks to put the finishing touches on a superb season in the EDCO Welding Street Stock division. Five feature victories and eight top 10s after solidly placed Poore in the first position with Josh Myers ranked in second spot, 111 markers behind first place. Rob Allman is third with Randy Hoppes and Frankie Oakes completing the top five.

Only 31 markers separate leading Hannah Lundy from Lonny Burton in the WMDH ThunderCar division. Lundy has 12 top-five finishes while Burton has visited the winner’s circle on three occasions. Third is Rob Allman with Frankie Oakes in fourth spot and Rob Noel in fifth.

Jeff Williams has locked up the Front Wheel Drive Oval championship after a stellar season in the No. 60 car. Williams has posted division bests of eight feature victories and 11 top-five finishes. Second is Trevin Henson with Paul Phipps ranked in third spot. Marshall Clark and Ron Phipps fill out the top five.

A dominant season has placed Chris Teepe into the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 points lead with a 120 point cushion over Elliott McKinney. Third is Donnie Ellis Jr. with Trevin Henson and Harry Lashure rounding out the top five.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.