Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Outlaw 100 Set for Saturday; Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 Plus Spectator Races

(September 28, 2011) – The month of October kicks off with a blockbuster racing program at Anderson Speedway with the return of the Outlaws in a 100-lap event paying $2,000 to the winner. The racing lineup will also include IOFS Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’, Front Wheel Drives Oval and the return of the Spectator Races.

The Outlaw 100 will be the first time that the International Outlaw Figure 8 Series has attempted to run an oval event in its four year history. It is only fitting that this inaugural event will take place at Anderson Speedway. The high-banked quarter-mile oval has hosted more IOFS events than any other speedway in the Midwest.

The event will be open to a wide variety of oval track racing machines. Cars will be permitted to utilize wings as long as the wings do not exceed 80 inches in height. In addition, cars must weigh a minimum of 2400 lbs. Teams can utilize any brand/compound tire as long as they are no wider than 10 inches. Tire soaking will not be allowed. IOFS and Anderson Speedway safety rules will apply for this event.

Early interest in this event has been high and several IOFS teams are expected to compete. Charlie Hargraves and Gary Bedell have indicated that they will be among the drivers gunning for the victory. Other possible drivers expected to participate include: Preston Maxwell, Damon Breedlove, Nick Moore, RJ Norton III and Johny Hargraves among others. In addition to IOFS late models, this event could very well include Modifieds, Super Late Models, Sportsman, and Street Stocks. With very few rules, this event will be one of the most intriguing races held anywhere in 2011.

This will be the first-ever oval race run under the IOFS banner. Anderson Speedway has hosted numerous open competition oval events of this type dating back to 1980. The "Junkyard 100" was one of the most popular short track events in all of the Midwest that was held annually for several years. The last time an open competition event was held at Anderson Speedway was 1996.

Several drivers have participated in past Open Comp.oval events at Anderson including: Harold Scott, CJ Rayburn, Vic Hellis, Don Ellis, Jackie Neal, Jim Cooper, Frank Kimmel and Larry Zent to name a few. CJ Rayburn set a world's record when he turned a lap of 10.880 seconds on September 22, 1984. This record would stand for nearly 20 years.

Jeff Williams has locked up the Front Wheel Drive Oval championship after a stellar season in the No. 60 car. Williams has posted division bests of eight feature victories and 11 top-five finishes. Second is Trevin Henson with Paul Phipps ranked in third spot. Marshall Clark and Ron Phipps fill out the top five.

A dominant season has placed Chris Teepe into the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 points lead with a 120 point cushion over Elliott McKinney. Third is Donnie Ellis Jr. with Trevin Henson and Harry Lashure rounding out the top five. Saturday’s event will be run under the IOFS banner.

The Spectator Races will make a return this Saturday night. Trophies will be awarded to top three finishers. Drivers are eligible to compete with purchasing a pit pass and having a helmet. It’s open to amateur racers only.

On Saturday, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.