Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Owen Collects IOFS FWD Figure 8 Victory

(October 3, 2011) – Anderson driver Randy Owen led the entire distance to capture the International Outlaw Front Wheel Drive feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Owen was chased the entire distance by Nick Warner, who was never able to mount a strong challenge for the victory.

Owen had to hold off Warner and Elliott McKinney on two restarts, but still was able to win by more than 1 second.

The first of two caution flags waved on lap four when Chuck Rogers got loose coming off the fourth corner and was collected in the cross over by Donnie Ellis Jr. and Dave Powell. The second caution waved on lap seven when Trevon Henson went straight into the turn three wall.

There was a change in format with no qualifying for the division. The feature line-up was set by the order of finish in two heats.

Owen held off Warner in the first of the heat races to grab the pole position for the feature event. As he did in the feature, Owen led the entire distance with Warner finishing more than 2-seconds back. Don Klein-Gallaher finished third followed by Trevon Henson and Mike Alley.

In the second heat race, the caution flag waved before one lap was completed when McKinney spun in turn two after a bump from Mark Allman.

Allman went on to lead the entire distance followed by Blake Zirkle, Jeff Williams, Ryan Cooper and Harry LaShure. Zirkle was disqualified for not returning to tech after the race.