Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Jennings Gets First Anderson Win

(October 3, 2011) – Richmond driver Andy Jennings recorded his first ever Front Wheel Drive Division win on the Anderson Speedway oval on Saturday.

Jennings competed twice earlier in the 2011 season in July and recorded two fourth place finishes.

On Saturday, Jennings took advantage of slower traffic to keep Nick Warner from recording the victory.

Jennings took the early lead but surrendered it to Don Klein-Gallaher on the second lap going down the back straight on a restart caused when Trevon Henson and Kevin Harmon tangled in turn two.

Jennings was able to take back the top spot on lap four with an inside pass of Klein-Gallaher on the front straight. A lap later Jeff Williams and Warner moved into the second and third positions and Warner passed Williams for second on lap 14 on the back straight.

With Warner and Williams closing, Jennings encountered slower traffic and used them to his advantage on the final lap to record the victory. Paul Phipps and Chris Jennings rounded out the top five.

“It was pretty scary out there,” Andy Jennings said following the win. “I got hit by a lapped car early in the race and thought I had a flat tire, but it all held together.”

Ron Phipps used an inside move on the third lap to take the point from Paul Phipps in the first of two heat races and went on to record the victory. The driver on the move was Warner who moved from fifth to third over the final four laps.

Following Ron Phipps to the checkers was Williams, Warner, Andy Jennings and Paul Phipps.

In the second heat race Marshall Clark took the lead from Harry Shultz on the second lap with an outside pass entering turn three and went on the record the victory.

At the checkers Clark was followed by Ryan Cooper, Zachary Kendall, David Powell and Troy Cook. It was Clark’s second heat win of the season.