Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Hargraves Victorious in Outlaw 100; Jennings, Owens Get Wins

(October 1, 2011) – Charlie Hargraves took the lead from R.J. Norton III with an inside pass on lap 43 and went on to capture the inaugural Outlaw 100 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Taking advantage of the five-car inversion, Norton jumped into the lead but behind him there was a spirited battle for the second spot between Gary Bedell, Nick Moore and Johnny Hargraves.

Charlie Hargraves moved into the fourth spot on lap 14 when Moore went high in turn four. From there Hargraves got inside of Bedell entering turn three on lap 32 to move into the second spot and closed on Norton.

For the next ten circuits, Hargraves looked high and low trying to grab the top spot, finally getting inside entering turn one. Moore moved into the second spot on lap 57, but ten laps later his night ended in a puff of smoke.

From there Hargraves pulled away to almost put a lap on the entire field when the checkered flag waved. Bedell got inside of Norton for second with four laps remaining. Norton finished third, followed by Johnny Hargraves and Damon Breedlove.

The race was slowed only one time for a caution period when Moore’s car put fluids on the track. The 100-lap distance was completed in less than 28 minutes.

“After I got the lead I was just riding,” Hargraves said following the victory. “I feel like this track owes me one, last time I wrecked in the cross-over.”

Richmond’s Andy Jennings used lapped traffic on the final lap to hold off Nick Warner to capture the Front Wheel Drive oval feature.

Jennings jumped into the lead at the start chased Don Klein-Gallaher, Jeff Williams, James Frawley and Warner.

Klein-Gallaher’s night ended with a mechanical problem on lap six, giving the second spot to Williams with Warner, the Herald Bulletin fast qualifier running third.

Warner got inside of Williams on the back straight on lap 14 and started to close on Jennings. But with the white flag waving, Jennings used slower traffic running in the low groove to record his first win at Anderson Speedway by .204-seconds over Warner. Williams came home in third followed by Paul Phipps and Chris Jennings.

“It was pretty scary out there,” Andy Jennings said following the win. “I was hit by a lapped car and I thought I had a flat tire, but it all held together.”

Randy Owens led the entire distance to capture the International Outlaw Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature.

Owens held off Nick Warner and Elliott McKinney on two restarts to record the victory. Kevin Henson finished fourth followed by Jeff Williams.

The first caution flag waved on lap 4 when Chuck Rogers got loose coming off the fourth corner and was collected in the cross-over by Donnie Ellis Jr. and David Powell. The second caution came on lap seven when Trevon Henson made heavy contact with the turn three wall.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, October 8 with the rescheduled ED Martin Toyota Season Championships set for Late Models, EDCO Welding Street Stocks, Figure 8’s, WMDH ThunderCars along with Front Wheel Drives in Oval & Figure 8 action. The Kenyon Midgets will also be in action on Saturday night.