Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

McKinney Gets Win, Teepe Crowned Champion

(October 10, 2011) – Although Chesterfield’s Chris Teepe had the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 championship in his pocket, the final point’s race of the year on Ed Martin Toyota Championship night didn’t go as planned.

Teepe jumped into the lead at the start of the feature but on lap four he made heavy contact with the turn three outside retaining wall when a right front tire went flat. Teepe and his crew made the necessary repairs and he returned to action several laps down, finishing seventh.

After Teepe’s incident, Donnie Ellis Jr. grabbed the top spot chased by Owen, Elliott McKinney, Colt Moore and Harry LaShure.

On lap 17 Owen took the lead from Ellis with an inside pass entering turn one, but two laps later he was black-flagged with smoke pouring from the back of his car.

McKinney was able to pass Ellis entering turn one on the final lap to record the victory followed by Moore, who also passed Ellis on the final circuit with Mike Alley and Owen rounding out the top five.