Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Williams Dominates FWD Oval Season

(October 10, 2011) – A look at the statistics for the Front Wheel Drive Oval division shows how dominant Jeff Williams was in capturing his first Anderson Speedway championship during Ed Martin Toyota Night.

Entering the final point’s race of the season, Williams came in with more than a 500-point lead in the division. During the year Williams won eight features, five heat races, set fast time eight times and accomplishment that may never be duplicated again, never finished lower than second in the feature races.

As has been the case over the final two months of the season, Williams and Jerry Dane again staged a spirited battle for the feature win.

On Sept. 24 Dane set quick time with Williams just .006-seconds behind followed by Jerry Smith, Ron Phipps and Randy Owen.

Dane took the early lead in the feature chased by Williams, Ron Phipps, Smith and Trevin Henson. Smith fighting an ill-handing car kept drifting high in the corners, which shuffled him back in the pack.

Williams took the point on lap four with an outside pass of Dane on the front straight. Following the first caution period when Henson stopped in turn two. Dane again retook the top spot from Williams.

The second caution flag waved on lap 11 when Don Klein-Gallaher and James Frawley tangled, sending both drivers to the back of the field.

Dane again snagged the point at the start chased by Williams and Phipps, whose night ended on lap 15 with smoke pouring from his car.

The final caution flag waved on lap 16 when Ricky Craig and Zachary Kendall tangled in turn two, with both drivers sent to the infield for the remaining laps. They exchanged pleasantries in the infield and briefly scuffled at the end of the feature race.

The driver on the move over the final nine laps was Klein-Gallaher, who made his way back to fourth when the checkers waved, but was disqualified during technical inspection.

Dane went on to score his sixth win of the season by .268-seconds over Williams with Andy Jennings, Paul Phipps and Kevin Henson rounding out the top five.