Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Ben Tunny Scores Outlaw Figure 8 Win; Pritchett, Owen Get Wins

(October 15, 2011) – It took fast qualifier Ben Tunny 24 laps to take the lead, but he then went on to dominate the International Outlaw Figure-8 Series feature on U.S. Air Force Night of Thrills at Anderson Speedway.

It took three attempts to get the 50-lap feature underway, but once it got started the race went caution free to the finish.

On the first attempt at a start Jeff Hizer spun from the front row in turn two. The second attempt was slowed when Chad Sizemore and Kenny Boggs got together coming off the fourth corner.

The race was red-flagged on the third attempt at a start when 11 cars stacked up in turn two when the front two rows got loose.

Mike St. John took the early lead as Tunny worked his way to the front from the 13th starting spot.

Tunny was running second on lap 24 when St. John lost an engine. Tunny pulled away from Gary Bedell as he worked his way through lapped traffic to win by 11.783-seconds with Mark Harmon and Jessy Tunny rounding out the top four, the only cars on the lead lap.

“It took a few laps to get going,” Tunny said. “The last half we had a good solid run. There were a lot of lapped cars, that wouldn’t give an inch. The crossover was dicey at times.”

Jarrod Pritchett took advantage of a restart on lap 14 to pass early leader Morgan Baird with an outside pass on the front straight to win the Mini Cups feature. Pritchett was pulling away from the field when the second caution flag waved on lap 21 for debris on the front straight.

Pritchett was turning laps at 14.908-seconds, which was faster than the new track record set during Herald Bulletin qualifying by Scott Swem at 15.140-seconds.

On the final restart Pritchett jumped into the lead chased by Baird, Swem finished third after swapping the position over the final two laps with Jamie Domski with Austin Kunert driving to a fifth place finish after starting 12th in the field.

For Pritchett, 11, it was his first win ever in racing competition.

Randy Owen grabbed the lead from Donnie Ellis Jr. with an outside move in turn two and went on to win the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature. Fast qualifier Elliott McKinney finished third followed by Nick Warner and Blake Zirkle rounded out the top five.

“This car wouldn’t run in practice, qualifying or the heat race,” Owen said. “I don’t know what they did, but the car is running now. It was starting to sputter at the end. They were going to pass me or wreck me.”

Chris Frawley, aka ‘Bozo’, won the rollover contest by turning his front wheel drive four times on the front straight. Ellis was able to complete only one and a half rolls.

Jimmy Ashton took the lead from Randy Owen on the eighth lap to record the win in School Bus Figure-8 action with Mike Irwin finishing a close second followed by Owen, who faded over the final two laps.

Gary Bragg Sr. captured the Culver’s Trailer Race when his son, Gary Jr. spun in turn one and was unable to continue. It was Bragg Sr.’s first win in the trailer race driving a Volvo with a toilet affixed to the roof and a large screen television on the trailer. The television didn’t survive a single lap.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, October 22nd with ThunderCar Enduro 200 and Front Wheel Drive Challenge.