Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Speed 51 Award Winners; Central Indiana Scores Well


(February 13, 2012) – When it comes to people that know short track racing, they once again ranked central Indiana racing among the best in the nation in the annual 51 Sports award voting.

Two traditional super late model events sanctioned by the Champion Racing Association in the Hoosier state were voted in the top three when it came to the best finish of the year.

The Snowball Derby at Five Flags Speedway was voted the best finish of the year, followed by the Red Bud 300 at Anderson Speedway and the Winchester 400. The Red Bud 300 was voted the best finish in 2010.

CRA partners R.J. Scott and Glen Luckett for the second consecutive year were named Promoters of the Year in voting, which included Anderson Speedway owner Rick Dawson as a candidate for the award.

But what’s a great sign for fans of racing at Anderson Speedway is the fact that CRA drivers had a dominant role in every category.

The CRA Super Series, JEGS All Stars, Sportsman and Street Stock series will all be at the local track in 2012. The Red Bud 300 on July 21 is a race to look forward to with the last two races being determined on the final lap.

With the JEGS All-Stars competing on the Friday night before the Red Bud 300 local late model racing fans will see two of the nation’s top touring series in action at Anderson Speedway on the same weekend.

CRA was voted the best touring series and the Winchester 400 was voted the second best annual race.

Kenzie Ruston’s win in the CRA Super Series at Lucas Oil Raceway after Boris Jurkovic ran out of fuel was voted second in the most inspirational moment of the year. Ruston, who is running full-time with CRA will be at Anderson Speedway on April 14 for the season opening event for the super late models.

Jurkovic’s win in the Winchester 400 after being several laps down, earned him the “Comeback Driver” of the year honors.

Illinois driver Eddie Hoffman was voted “Best Bad Boy” in short track racing and his rivalry with Erik Jones was deemed to be the best one of the year. Jones the JEGS champion captured “Rookie of the Year” honors in the voting.

Ross Kenseth, a regular competitor at the Red Bud 300 and CRA Super Series events finished second to Chase Elliott, another CRA competitor, for Short Track Driver of the Year honors.