Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dossey, Weddle Score Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

(April 2, 2012) –
Indianapolis driver Jack Dossey Jr., the national points’ leader in the Legends Division showed a lot of patience before passing fast qualifier Andy Jones with three laps remaining.

Jones took the lead from the pole position chased by Bryan Nuckles, Dossey, Matt Erich and Alex Arelano. Dossey used an inside pass on the tenth circuit to pass Nuckles entering turn three.

From there Dossey closed on the rear bumper of Jones and coming off the fourth corner on lap 21, Jones slipped high which gave Dossey the inside groove. He made the pass to take the lead entering turn one.

On the final lap coming off the second corner, Jones got loose and made contact with the outside retaining wall. At the finish it was Dossey, Nuckles, Erich, Erick Black and Arelano.

In the Thunder Roadsters feature there was tight racing throughout the pack with Chris Weddle claiming the victory

Weddle chased Nate Shrout for 11 laps but when the low line opened entering turn three he took advantage of the situation to grab the lead and went on to win the Thunder Roadster feature.

Shrout got trapped in the high groove and dropped from the lead to sixth in the space of two laps.

Marty Griffin finished second with Darrell Brown passing John Robbins entering turn three with five laps remaining to come home in third, Tony Holden rounded out the top five.