Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Late Models, Street Stocks and Front Wheel Drives Debut Saturday Night

(April 5, 2012) – The season kicks off Saturday night for the four regular divisions at Anderson Speedway. The McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, EDCO Welding Street Stocks along with G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives (Oval & Figure 8’s) will do battle on the historic quarter-mile oval.

The McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models return for the second consecutive season at the premier division at Anderson Speedway. Last year, Terry Cater earned the championship finishing ahead of Randy Hoppes and Brett Robinson. Cater earned a division best three feature victories. Other drivers that scored victories that are expected to compete this season include Keith Sterkowitz, Jason Atkinson and Kevin Claborn.

Josh Poore earned the 2011 EDCO Welding Street Stock championship, besting Josh Myers by 97 markers. Third in the final round-up was Rob Allman with Randy Hoppes and Frankie Oakes filling out the top five. Poore collected a division best five feature wins with single event checkered flags claimed by Myers, Brian Hopkins, Rickie Tharp, Jason Thompson, Ronnie Rose and Jeff Lane.

Last season, Jeff Williams captured the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval title after producing a remarkable season that included eight feature wins, five fast times and 13 top-five finishes in 15 events. Trevin Henson and Paul Phipps rounded out the top three in the championship standings. Chris Teepe won the Figure 8 crown with season highlights including five checkered flags and 11 top 10 finishes. Elliott McKinney and Donnie Ellis Jr. filled out the top performers in the division.

On Saturday night, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.