Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Wright Scores MEP Late Model Win; Myers, Dane and Warner Visit Winner's Circle

(April 28, 2012) –  Danville’s Eldon Wright grabbed the lead of the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model feature at the start and wouldn’t be denied the victory at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Wright had to withstand six restarts and turned back challenges from Terry Cater, Josh Poore and Ronnie Rose to record the victory.

Wright got the jump on Greg Van Alst at the start and turned back a challenge from Cater early in the race when Van Alst scrapped the front straight retaining wall. Cater held down the second spot until lap 18 when he developed a leaking radiator.

From there Nick Moore was the driver on the move, moving up to challenge Poore for the third position when he had a tire go down and made contact with the turn three wall.

Wright went on to score the win followed by Rose, Josh Cave, Poore and Allman.

“I love this little track,” Wright said. “I think Terry (Cater) and I were both a little at fault when we got together.”

Fast qualifier Josh Myers slipped inside of Jimmy Kirby coming off the fourth corner on the 17th lap and went on to win the EDCO Street Stock feature. It was Myers first win of 2012.

Kirby was able to maintain the low line and held off Rickie Tharp for second with Tyler Marsh and Danny Adams rounding out the top five.

Jerry Dane scored his second feature win of the season in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval Division by taking advantage of a restart to grab the lead from Ron Phipps.

Dane pulled away over the final ten laps with Phipps coming home in second followed by Marshal Clark Jr., Chris Jennings and Paul Phipps.

Nick Warner saw a big lead evaporate in lapped traffic, but was able to hold off a hard charging Elliott McKinney to record the win in the G,.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature.

Donnie Ellis Jr. came home in third followed by Kevin Henson and Mike Alley.

The first ever United States Speed Association sanctioned sprint car race will take place today at Anderson Speedway with the running of the 100-lap “Glen Niebel Classic” and a 30-lap feature for the Kenyon Midgets. Qualifications start at 11:30 a.m. with racing action beginning at 2 p.m.