Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dane Records Second Victory Victory; Ron and Ronnie Phipps Earn Heat Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

(April 29, 2012) – For Arcadia driver Jerry Dane the 2012 season has started off as one of feast or famine in the G.W. Pierce Auto Parts Front Wheel Drive Oval Division.

Dane set fast time during qualifications and started fourth in the feature. At the start Marshal Clark Jr. jumped into the early lead chased by Ron Phipps, Dane, Chris Jennings and Joseph Jennings.

On the second circuit Phipps got inside of Clark in turn one to grab the lead and one lap later Dane made an identical move to claim the second spot.

The caution flag waved on lap seven when Jeff Williams and Joseph Jennings made contact with Jennings spinning.

Dane took advantage of the double-file restart to take the lead from Phipps as the two exited the fourth corner. Williams brought out the second caution when he hit the turn two outside retaining wall.

Dane held off Phipps on the final restart with Clark, Chris Jennings and Paul Phipps rounding out the top five.

For Dane it was his second feature win of the year. In the third feature event in 2012 he failed to start following a heat race incident that resulted in suspension damage.

Ron Phipps made the move of the night in the first heat race by splitting front-runners Paul Phipps and Mike Alley on the seventh circuit to record the win.

Paul Phipps took the early lead followed by Joseph Jennings, Alley, Clark and Ron Phipps. Phipps and Trevin Henson swapped the fifth spot several times in the early stages of the race.

With Paul Phipps leading Alley, Ron Phipps passed Dane on lap five, Joe Jennings on lap seven and then took the lead.

Dane passed Paul Phipps on lap nine on the back straight to claim the second spot. Paul Phipps, Alley and Jennings rounded out the top five.

Michael Harrold led the second heat race until lap six when he was black-flagged for turning laps faster than his qualifying time.

That gave the lead to Ronnie Phipps who went on to beat Mark Jennings with Harrold, David Powell and Mike Shepherd rounding out the top five.