Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

IOFS Outlaw Figure 8's Return Saturday; Five Divisions in Action

(May 1, 2012) –  Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, May with an exciting racing lineup to kick off the month of May. Featured divisions include IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, EDCO Welding Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars, IOFS Compact Figure 8’s and Thunder Roadsters.

The IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s will make their third appearance of the young season on the quarter-mile oval of Anderson Speedway. Charlie Hargraves won the opener on March 31 over Jeremy Vanderhoof and Robbie Loving with Johnny Hargraves scoring his first career Anderson victory on April 21. Charlie Hargraves and Jon Conklin were close behind at the checkered flag behind the race winner.

Jimmy Kirby and Josh Myers have split the opening events for the EDCO Welding Street Stock division to pace the division. Kirby grabbed the victory on April 7 with Myers the most recent winner. Other strong performances have been turned in by Rickie Tharp, Tyler Marsh and Frankie Oakes.

In the WMDH ThunderCars, Rob Allman sits atop the standings with Rob Wyman and Frankie Oakes filling out the top-three performers. Fourth is defending division champion Hannah Lundy with Ranny Hinton ranked in fifth spot.

Nick Warner won the IOFS Compact Figure 8 feature on April 21. He bested Kevin Henson and Mark Allman. The remainder of the top-five finishers included Elliott McKinney and Mike Alley.

The Thunder Roadsters will compete in a 25-lap feature. Chris Weddle visited the winner’s circle earlier this season.

On Saturday, May 5, spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.