Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Weddle Holds on for Thunder Roadsters Win

By Ken de la Bastide

(May 7, 2012) – 
Chris Weddle captured the Thunder Roadsters victory last Saturday at Anderson Speedway, but fellow competitor Doug Dugger provided plenty of pressure.

After the first lap Weddle was running fourth behind Tony Holden, Scott McGinnley and Marty Griffin with Dugger running outside the top five.

Weddle got inside of Griffin on the fourth lap entering turn three and seven laps later passed Holden for the lead.

Dugger worked his way through the field and was running second on lap 22 when the lone caution flag waved when Jordan Hiner spun in turn four. Weddle took the lead on the restart, but Dugger dogged his tire tracks to the finish.

Rounding out the top five were Griffin, McGinnley and Darrell Brown.

Dugger recorded the victory in the first heat race with a last lap pass of Weddle going down the back straight.

Weddle had taken the lead on the four laps by passing Griffin in turn one and on the front straight on the next lap Dugger slipped inside of Griffin for the second spot.

Dugger stayed glued on Weddel’s bumper until the final lap. Dugger entered turn one taking the high line and then made a perfect move coming off the second corner to slip inside of Weddle for the win.

There were two caution periods in the second heat race, both caused by wall contact. Mark Blausey got into the outside retaining wall in turn two on the opening lap. Hiner got loose exiting turn two on lap three making contact with the outside retaining wall on the back straight.

McGinnley took the lead from the start and led the entire distance. David Lobbia, Holden, Nate Shrout and Ross Schoeller rounded out the top five.