Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Van Meter Dominates MEP Late Model Action; Poore Wins EDCO Welding Street Stock Battle

(May 19, 2012) – In his first start at Anderson Speedway in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, Eddie Van Meter turned in a stellar performance during the Hoosier Park Spring Championships at Anderson Speedway.

Van Meter set fast time Saturday and led all 40 laps to record the feature win. With Van Meter in control of the top spot, Josh Poore and Brandon Phillips battled for the second spot through the early stages of the race.

The driver on the move was Greg VanAlst, who spun on the third lap on the front straight and battled his way back to fifth with three laps remaining. Trying to get inside of John Heck for fourth entering turn three the two drivers made contact causing Heck to spin.

Both drivers were sent to the tail of the field, which moved Ronnie Rose and Fred Hopkins into the top five. Hopkins started from the tail of the 18-car field for missing his heat race.

On the final restart Van Meter again pulled away from Poore and the rest of the field. Brandon Phillips came home third followed by Rose and Hopkins.

“The car was good all night,” Van Meter said. “This is my son’s car (Billy) and he let me race it tonight.”

The terrible luck to start the 2012 season for defending champion Terry Cater continued as he was collected in a four-car incident in turn three on the second circuit.

Josh Poore got the jump on a restart with 12 laps remaining to take the lead from Calvin Parham to record his first victory of the year in the EDCO Welding Street Stocks.

Parham, who was the fast qualifier, grabbed the early lead but was chased by Poore for the first 23 laps until the caution waved when Billy VanMeter spun.

Parham has used up his tires and was unable to hold off Poore. Parham held on for second followed by Ricky Tharp.

Josh Myers and Jimmy Crabtree used the outside groove to slip around Ronnie Rose for the third and fourth positions on consecutive laps.

Defending WMDH ThunderCar champion Hannah Lundy recorded her first feature win, pulling away from Rob Allman following a lap 11 restart.

Lundy set fast time during qualifications and opened up a sizeable lead over Allman before the caution flag waved when Pam Neal and Travis Burge got together on the back straight while battling for position.

Lundy had to go to the infield grass to avoid the incident and on the restart was able to retain the top spot, but Allman remained in close contact to the finish.

Frankie Oakes finished third followed by Burge, making a nice recovery after being sent to the tail, with first time competitor Trent Gossar rounding out the top five.

Jerry Dane recorded his third feature win of the year in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive oval action, but he had to hold off a determined Don Gallaher for the entire race distance.

“I like racing against him (Gallaher),” Dane said. “It was pretty tough.”

Ron Phipps, Marshall Clark Jr. and Paul Phipps rounded out the top five.

Elliott McKinney scored a clean sweep in Figure-8 action for the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive division by setting fast time, winning his heat race and led the entire distance to win the feature.

McKinney was hounded for the first 11 laps by Kevin Henson, who was forced to retire. On a restart with three laps remaining McKinney was able to hold off Donnie Ellis Jr.SA

Pay Less Little 500 week kicks off on Wednesday, May 23 with the TRUFUEL Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series presented by Biobased.US (MSRXSS) featured in the Must See Racing 60 presented by Sam Pierce Chevrolet. The Mel Kenyon Midgets will also be part of the racing program.

First round qualifications for the 64th Pay Less Little 500 will take place on Thursday, May 24, beginning at 1:30 p.m. with the 33-car field set during second round of qualifications on Friday afternoon. On Friday Night, The Ohio Express concert will be showcased at 7:30 pm. The 64th Pay Less Little 500 goes green approximately at 8 p.m. on Saturday night.

Tickets are available for the historic 64th Pay Less Little 500 at $28 for reserved seating. For more information, contact the Anderson Speedway Ticket Office at (765) 642-0206.