Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Sterkowitz Wins CRA Late Model Sportsman Feature; Rose Dominates CRA Street Stocks; Hargraves Takes IOFS Victory

(June 2, 2012) – When leader Greg VanAlst got loose in turn four, Cedar Lake’s Keith Sterkowitz took advantage of the miscue to grab the lead on lap 40 and went on to win the Top Speed Fabrication CRA Late Model Sportsman feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Helped by the inversion of eight for the start, VanAlst started on the pole position and gave up the lead momentarily to Trey Craig. But on the second lap VanAlst regained the top spot.

Craig brought out the lone caution for the 75-lap event for the Top Speed Fabrication Sportsman on lap 34 when he spun in turn three.

Brian McFadden led one lap on the restart, but on lap 36 both VanAlst and Sterkowitz got inside to claim the top two spots.

A lap later Jason Atkinson and K.C. Spillers got underneath McFadden to move up to the third and fourth position.

After Sterkowitz grabbed the lead Atkinson got inside of VanAlst on lap 41 entering turn one. Atkinson was unable to close on Sterkowitz with Spillers, VanAlst and McFadden rounding out the top five.

Fred Hopkins started 12th in the field and drove to an impressive sixth place finish.

“I was putting a little pressure on him (VanAlst), hoping he would make a mistake,” Sterkowitz said of the pass for the lead and the win.

There were five lead changes among four different drivers.

Ronnie Rose dominated the CRA Street Stock 75-lap feature, leading 74 circuits to record the victory. Rose held off a number of challengers on a series of restarts but was able to hold onto the top spot.

Pole sitter Brian Hopkins led the first lap, but there were two quick caution periods before a second lap could be completed.

On the third attempt at a restart, Rose was able to get the jump on Hopkins and roared into the lead. Through five more caution periods Rose was able to first hold off Dustin Burge and then Calvin Parham.

Following Rose to the checkers was Parham, Bret Miles Jr., Jimmy Kirby and Dave Bice.

“The car was great tonight,” Rose said of his winning mount.

Burge’s night ended on lap 24 when he made contact with the turn two outside retaining wall while running seventh and fast qualifier Josh Poore had to make a quick visit to the pits, rejoining the field at the tail.

In the middle stages of the race the driver on the move was Josh Myers, who worked his way from the 11th starting spot to fourth with 28 laps remaining. But a restart on lap 47, Myers got hung up on the outside and fell back out of contention.

Mike St. John appeared to have resolved his season long engine problems in regional International Outlaw Figure-8 Series action.

But after leading the first 22 laps of the feature, the engine let go ending his bid for that first win in 2012.

That gave the lead to Johnny Hargraves, chased by Gary Bedell and Jeff Hizer, the only cars on the lead lap. Attrition took several cars out of the race.

Hargraves scored his second career win with the IOFS, holding off Bedell over the final five laps. Bedell was glued to the rear bumper of Hargraves but was unable to make the pass. Hizer finished third.

On lap eight the cars of Bruce McFall and Shawn Cullen made contact in the crossover.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, June 9 with EDCO Welding Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars along with G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.