Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Warner Earns WMDH ThunderCar Victory; Tharp Collects EDCO Welding Street Stock Trophy

(June 9, 2012) – Six drivers battled for the win in the WMDH ThunderCar feature with Nick Warner taking the lead with nine laps remaining to record the victory on Saturday.

With an invert of eight for the 25-lap feature at Anderson Speedway, Fred Hopkins and Earl Adams II battled through the first ten laps for the top spot. As the two battled for the top spot Nick Warner, Scott Neal, Rob Allman and Hannah Lundy all joined the fray.

Adams got caught on the high side on lap 13 and a number of cars were able to pass him. Warner took the lead from Hopkins on lap 16 with an inside move entering turn one.

The only caution flag waved on lap 17 when Hopkins and Neal made contact coming off the second corner. Both drivers were done for the evening with flat tires.

From there Warner held off Allman and Lundy on the restart. Lundy got inside of Allman going down the back straight. Following Warner to the checkered flag was Lundy, Allman, Jesse Bilbrey and Mike Peters.

It was Warner’s first feature win of the season in the division with a new engine under the hood of his car.

“We’ve been making some adjustments on the car,” Warner said.

Making his first start of the year in the EDCO Welding Street Stock Division, Josh Tharp led the entire distance to record the feature win in the car normally driven by Josh Poore.

Tharp lost the lead on the first lap to Ricky Tharp, but on the second circuit was able to move to the point with an inside move on the front straight.

Ricky Tharp hung up in the high groove surrendered the second and third positions to Jimmy Kirby and Josh Myers.

Josh Tharp almost got into the turn two retaining wall on the sixth lap, but was able to regain control and held off a strong run from Kirby.

Kirby chased Tharp to the checkers but was never able to mount another serious charge for the lead. After the two front-runners took the white flag for the final lap, Andrew Cook spun on the front straight in front of the third and fourth place running cars of Myers and Ricky Tharp with Tyler Marsh coming home in fifth.

Jerry Dane make an inside pass of early leader Ron Phipps on the front straight on the third lap to record his fourth feature win in the G.W. Pierce Front Drive Oval division.

Jeff Saxon turned the fastest laps of the race closing on Phipps and finally made the pass on lap 15 entering turn four. Phipps followed in third followed by Trevin Henson and Paul Phipps.

It was Dane’s third consecutive feature win.

“I’m trying to make a habit of it,” Dane said of winning in the division. “Sometimes it doesn’t work out.”

Dane said it was fun racing against Saxon, a former division champion, making his first start of the year.

The Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature took a wild turn of events on lap seven when Elliott McKinney and Mike Alley were battling for the lead.

McKinney got loose on the front straight and spun which gave Alley the lead and sent McKinney to the tail. On the restart McKinney started behind Alley and they never completed the first turn. McKinney pushed Alley into the turn one outside retaining wall, ending the night for both.

Allman who survived getting collected in the McKinney, Alley incident went on to win his first feature event of the year. In a race of attrition there were only four cars running at the finish.

Following Allman to the checkers by Jeremy Acree, Donnie Ellis Jr. and Kevin Henson.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, June 16 with USSA Sprint Cars, McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, WMDH ThunderCars and Thunder Roadsters.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.