Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Tharp Scores Street Stock Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 12, 2012) – 
Making his first start of the year in the EDCO Welding Street Stock Division, Josh Tharp led the entire distance to record the feature win in the car normally driven by Josh Poore.

Tharp lost the lead on the first lap to Ricky Tharp, but on the second circuit was able to move to the point with an inside move on the front straight.

Ricky Tharp hung up in the high groove surrendered the second and third positions to Jimmy Kirby and Josh Myers.

Josh Tharp almost got into the turn two retaining wall on the sixth lap, but was able to regain control and held off a strong charge from Kirby before entering turn three.

Kirby chased Tharp to the checkers but was never able to mount another serious charge for the lead.

After the two front-runners took the white flag for the final lap, Andrew Cook spun on the front straight in front of the third and fourth place running cars of Myers and Ricky Tharp, both were able to avoid any contact. Tyler Marsh came home in fifth.

In the first heat race Josh Tharp took the early lead but was challenged on the outside for the first four laps by Ricky Tharp.

Josh finally prevailed to claim the lead and both Myers and Kirby slipped underneath Ricky Tharp to claim the second and third positions.

Jon Conklin recorded his first heat win of the year by passing Frankie Oakes on the fourth lap as the two came off the fourth corner. Following Conklin and Oakes to the checkers were Marsh, Larry Lathan and Jeff Johnson.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.