Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Amonett Earns Second Consecutive MEP Late Model Victory; Myers, Weddle and Moyes Also Victorious

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 23, 2012) – 
Ryan Amonett made it two wins in a row in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday taking the lead from Rob Allman with nine laps remaining.

Allman took the lead on lap three with an inside pass of Joe Woodring on the front straight with Amonett moving into the second spot on the back straight.

With Allman holding off Amonett through the middle stages of the race Josh Poore used the outside line to move in the top five followed by Brandon Phillips and Woodring.

There was tight racing for the front six positions as the leaders jockeyed for position with the cars racing side by side.

The only caution flag waved on lap 26 when Brock Anderson spun in turn one, which bunched up the front-runners for the double file restart.

Allman held onto the lead but coming off turn four on lap 26 Amonett bumped him out of the low groove. That allowed Amonett to take the lead with Poore running a close third. Ronnie Rose got inside of Phillips to grab the fourth spot on lap 31.

Making his first start of the year in the WMDH ThunderCar Division Josh Myers took advantage of a restart on the second lap to get around Earl Adams II and went on to record the feature win.

Myers and Adams were chased for the remaining 23 laps by Phil Jenkins and Hannah Lundy, but not of the front runners made a miscue as they made their way through slower traffic. Rob Allman rounded out the top five.

Tennessee driver David Moyes III didn’t waste any time getting to the lead in the Legends feature, diving inside of early leader Aaron Holder coming off the back straight to record his fifth consecutive victory at Anderson Speedway.

Moyes won four times at the local racing plant in 2011 and continued his winning ways on his first visit of 2012. Jack Dossey Jr. moved around Holden for the second spot with ten laps remaining, closing the gap on Moyes. At the checkers, Moyes won by about five car lengths.

Holden recorded a third place finish with Brandon DeBrakeleer and Eric Black rounding out the top five.

Chris Weddel continued his dominance in the Thunder Roadster division recording his fourth win of the season leading the entire distance, steadily pulling away from Darrell Brown and Doug Dugger.

There was tight racing for the fourth position with five drivers battling for the position. Marty Griffin held on for the fourth spot followed by Larry Fritz.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, June 30 with the CRA Street Stock 200, WMDH ThunderCars and Legends.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.