Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Amonett Scores Repeat in MEP Late Model Action; Woodring, Poore Earns Heat Victories

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 26, 2012) – 
Ryan Amonett made it two wins in a row in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday taking the lead from Rob Allman with nine laps remaining.

There was tight racing throughout the top ten during the entire 35 feature and the heat races leading up to the main event.

Allman took the lead on lap three with an inside pass of Joe Woodring on the front straight with Amonett moving into the second spot on the back straight on the same lap.

With Allman holding off Amonett through the middle stages of the race Josh Poore used the outside line to move in the top five followed by Brandon Phillips and Woodring.

There was tight racing for the front six positions as the leaders jockeyed for position with the cars racing side by side.

The only caution flag waved on lap 26 when Brock Anderson spun in turn one, which bunched up the front-runners for the double file restart.

Allman held onto the lead but coming off turn four on lap 26 Amonett bumped him out of the low groove. That allowed Amonett to take the lead with Poore running a close third. Ronnie Rose got inside of Phillips to grab the fourth spot on lap 31.

Ronnie Rose led the entire distance in the Motion Motors Dash for cash, but it was fast qualifier Fred Hopkins on the move.

Hopkins got around Poore on lap three and slipped inside of Brandon Phillips to finish second.

Woodring grabbed the lead in the first heat race and remained in front the entire distance. Allman used the outside line on the second lap to pass Randy Hoppes to move into the second position.

Allman pressed Woodring for remaining race distance, but came up two-tenths of a second short at the checkers. Ammonett finished third followed by Mark Livesay and Hoppes.

Poore passed early leader Greg VanAlst on the seventh lap using the high groove coming off the second corner to record his second heat win of the year.

VanAlst took the early lead chased by Brock Anderson and Phillips. On the third lap Rose and Poore passed Phillips on the front straight to move into third and fourth.

Anderson spun in turn two on lap six which set up a double file restart with VanAlst and Poore on the front row.

Poore got the jump on the restart with VanAlst running second followed by Phillips. At the checkers Phillips edged VanAlst for the second spot by two one-thousandths of a second.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.