Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Myers Gets WMDH ThunderCar Win; Adams, Buckner Score Initial Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

(June 26, 2012) – 
Making his first start of the year in the WMDH ThunderCar Division Josh Myers took advantage of a restart on the second lap to get around Earl Adams II and went on to record the feature win.

Myers, a regular with the EDCO Welding Street Stocks, stepped into the car owned by Austin Chapman and drove it into victory lane.

Adams took the early lead in the feature event with Myers, Eddie Richardson, Josh Poore and Phil Jenkins running in close pursuit.

Poore brought out the only caution flag on lap two when he spun in turn two. That was the only break Myers needed as he powered around Adams on the back straight to take the lead.

Myers and Adams was chased for the remaining 23 laps by Phil Jenkins and Hannah Lundy, but none of the front runners made a miscue as they made their way through slower traffic. Rob Allman rounded out the top five.

Adams got his win of the year in the first heat race leading the entire 10-lap distance, having to hold off Myers for the final eight circuits.

Myers and Rob Allman both passed Richardson to move into the second and third spots on lap two and over the course of the next two circuits Richardson was passed by Jenkins and Lundy.

In the second heat race Ryan Buckner drove into the winning circle for the first time this year by passing Andrea Williams on the second lap with an inside move on the front straight.

The yellow flag waved on lap three when Fred Hopkins and Sammy Hawkins tangled in turn two. On the restart Frankie Oakes got inside of Williams entering turn one for the second spot.

Williams brought out the second caution flag when she came to a stop on the front straight on lap six. Buckner was able to hold off Oakes on the restart with Trent Gossar, Chris Snyder and Jimmy Hawkins rounding out the top five.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.