Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Perfect Night for Poore; Warner, Robbins, Lobbia Score Wins

(June 30, 2012) – It was a perfect night for Josh Poore at Anderson Speedway on Saturday leading all 200 laps to capture the Champion Racing Association’s Street Stock feature.

Poore set quick time during qualifications and was never headed during the 200-laps of action, turning back challenges from a number of drivers to record the win.

He was challenged at different times by Beau Mitchell, Jason Atkinson, and for the final 100 laps had Dustin Burge glued to his rear bumper.

With 15 laps remaining Burge was trailing Poore by less than a car length, just waiting for the leader to make a mistake in lapped traffic.

As Poore and Burge battled for the top spot that allowed David Bice and Jimmy Kirby to close on the leaders. But that would be the way they finished with Danny Smith rounding out the top five.

Poore became the first repeat winner of the annual 200-lap event.

Jason Atkinson started the second half of the race in the second spot but on the restart got caught on the outside and dropped back in the field. On lap 120 he slammed into the turn three wall, ending his night.

At the start of the second 100 laps of action, Dustin Burge and Beau Mitchell slipped inside of Atkinson with Burge running close behind leader Poore.

The leader board got shook up on lap 92 when the lapped car of Danny Adams lost an engine entering turn one in front of the lead pack causing fourth place running Josh Myers to spin.

The red flag waved on lap 54 when Calvin Parham, who had just taken over the fifth spot from Brian Hopkins, lost an engine entering turn one.

Rob Allman hit the turn two wall while running sixth on lap 39 and Ronnie Rose suffered a flat left front tire on lap 28 while running inside the top ten.

Only 16 of the 33 cars that started the feature were still running at the finish. The race was slowed eight times by cautions for a total of 59 laps.

Nick Warner led the entire distance to record his second WMDH ThunderCar feature of the year holding off fast qualifier Hannah Lundy for the final 22 laps.

Lundy got inside of second place running Rob Allman entering turn three and for most of the race was only two car lengths off Warner’s rear bumper.

Earl Adams II finished third with Rob Allman and Phil Jenkins rounding out the top five.

David Lobbia scored his first career win in the Thunder Roadsters division by using an inside pass entering turn three to get around Marty Griffin with five laps remaining in the feature.

Griffin bounced off the front straight wall after being passed by Lobbia and fell all the way back to sixth. Doug Dugger and Scott McGinley finished second and third.

Frankton’s John Robbins inherited the lead when Josh Dietz suffered damage to the rear nerf bar in an incident on turn three when Cody Anderson spun on the back straight and the field stacked up during the caution.

On the first of two restarts, Robbins held off fast qualifier Jack Dossey Jr., who bounced off the front straight wall, ending his night.

From there Robbins dominated the remainder of the race followed by James Eldin, Jack Dossey III, Marty Griffin and Chris Hacker.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Wednesday, July 4th with Marsh Supermarkets Figure 8 Madness presented by Custom Door Products. The racing lineup includes IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s, Culver’s Trailer Race, IOFS Compact Figure 8’s and IOFS Super Carts. Plus a huge fireworks show.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.