Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Lobbia Breaks Into Win Column; Robbins Claims Legends Feature

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 1, 2012) – 
David Lobbia scored his first career win in the Thunder Roadsters division by using an inside pass entering turn three to get around Marty Griffin with five laps remaining.

Griffin had the early lead from the pole position chased by Lobbia and Doug Dugger. Early in the contest the drivers to watch were Nate Shrout and Scott McGinley who battled side by side for the fourth spot, swapping the position several times.

With Shrout and McGinley battling for position it kept fast qualifier Darrell Brown and Larry Fritz caught in the back of the pack.

On lap 20 Lobbia got inside of Griffin, who got loose coming off the fourth corner. Griffin bounced off the front straight wall after being passed by Lobbia and fell all the way back to sixth.

Doug Dugger and Scott McGinley finished second and third.

Frankton’s John Robbins inherited the lead when Josh Dietz suffered damage to the rear nerf bar during an incident in turn three when Cody Anderson spun on the back straight and the field stacked up during the caution.

On the first of two restarts, Robbins held off fast qualifier Jack Dossey Jr., who bounced off the front straight wall, ending his night after only three laps.

The third l caution was brought out on lap 15 when Walter Thomas III made contact with the outside retaining wall.

With Robbins pulling away fom the field on the final restart, there was a spirited battle between Jack Dossey III and Chris Hacker for position, until the two spun on lap 19.

Robbins went on to record the victory followed by James Eldin, Dossey III, Marty Griffin and Hacker. Cody Anderson spun on the final lap in turn two while running fifth and had to settle for a sixth place showing.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.