Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Van Meter Sweeps IOFS Action

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 5, 2012) –
In what might have been the most impressive drive of the season to date, Eddie Van Meter recorded his second sweep of the year in International Outlaw Figure-8 Series competition.

Eddie Van Meter battled his way back from the eighth spot to win the IOFS feature at Anderson Speedway on Marsh Figure 8 Madness Night.

“We had a really good car,” Van Meter said following the win. “We had a little problem that we needed to fix.”

Eddie Van Meter set fast time and led the first 23 laps of the 50-lap feature. He was slowing noticeably which allowed second place running Charlie Hargraves to close.

On lap 23 Hargraves spun in turn three and Van Meter pulled off into the lower pits with a bent tie-road. After some quick pit work, he rejoined the field in eighth place.

That gave the lead to point’s leader Jeremy Vanderhoof, chased by Johnny Hargraves and Ronnie Rose.
Rose got inside of Hargraves on the restart, with VanMeter climbing his way back to third with 19 laps remaining.

On lap 36 Van Meter got inside of Rose entering turn one to claim the second spot and three laps later passed Vanderhoof coming off the fourth corner.

Charlie Hargraves, unveiled a new car and took the second spot from Rose on lap 37 and passed Vanderhood with less than ten laps remaining.

Van Meter scored the victory followed by Charlie Hargraves, Vanderhoof, Rose and Johnny Hargraves.

With Van Meter pulling away from the field in the early stages of the race second place running Charlie Hargraves several times had to slam on his brakes to miss fifth place running Ronnie Rose in the cross—over.

Jeff Hizer, who was third in the national point standings, failed to complete a lap in the 50-lap feature. On the start he made contact with the turn one wall, which caused heavy suspension damage.

At the same time Kenny Boggs and Shawn Cullen mixed it up coming off the turn four and were finished for the night when IOFS officials decided both drivers were guilty of unsportsmanlike conduct.

During the first heat race, Hizer took the early lead chased by Rose and Van Meter. It took Van Meter six laps to slip inside of Rose entering turn one. A lap later he used the outside line on the front straight to take the lead and score the win.

Preston Maxwell Jr. grabbed the point in the second heat race and appeared headed on the way to a victory when smoke started pouring from the back of his. That resulted in a trip to the pits and gave Jeff Swinford the lead.

Swinford was chased to the checkers by old nemesis Shawn Cullen with Boggs coming off in third.

Van Meter set fast time during qualifications with a lap of 16.350-seconds followed by Charles and Johnny Hargraves.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.