Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Hopkins Gets Initial MEP Lat Model Victory; Burge, Allman Record Wins

By Ken de la Bastide

(July 7, 2012) – 
New Castle’s Fred Hopkins put himself on the pole position for the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model feature and drove on to the victory at Anderson Speedway on WMDH Night.

Hopkins won the second heat and drew the number six for the inversion, which placed him on the front row next to Brandon Phillips.

Hopkins led all 35 laps of the feature, but was never able to pull away by more than a couple of car lengths over Philips and Rob Allman.

While the three front-runners were pulling away from the pack there was a spirited battle for fourth between Ronnie Rose, fast-qualifier Joshua Poore, Tray Craig and Ryan Amonett.

Poore used the outside line to pass Rose for fourth on lap 23 on the front straight. Poore finished fourth followed by Rose and Greg VanAlst.

Coming off a second place run in the CRA 200 lap feature, Dustin Burge scored his first feature win of the year in the EDCO Welding Street Stocks holding off fast qualifier Jimmy Kirby for 18 laps.

Burge took the lead on lap four from Danny Adams with an inside move entering turn three. Kirby, who started sixth in the feature steadily worked his way to the front, moving into the second spot on lap 12 with a move on Ricky Tharp.

The third of four caution flags waved on lap 27 when Josh Myers and Jacob McElfresh tangled in turn three while battling for the fourth position.

With two laps remaining Burge had to hold back Kirby when Danny Adams spun in turn two while battling for fourth.

Burge pulled away on the final restart to win by less than a car length over Kirby with Tharp, Myers and Adams rounding out the top five.

Rob Allman recorded his first win of the year in the WMDH ThunderCar feature passing early leader Josh Myers with an outside move on the front straight.

Current point’s leader Hannah Lundy slipped inside of Myers entering turn three on lap 11, but was unable to close on Allman. Myers held on for third followed by Earl Adams II and Eddie Richardson.

Nick Warner grabbed the lead from Don Gallaher on a restart on lap five and then slowly pulled away to record the win in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Division.

Gallaher grabbed the top spot when Ron Phipps was caught up in a lap four incident when Mike Shepherd bounced off the turn two wall. Phipps car suffered suspension damage in the accident.

Both Warner and Gallaher had problems getting around the slower car of James Frawley which allowed Warner to extend his advantage.

Marhsall Clark Jr. finished third followed by Trevin Henson and Paul Phipps.

Illinois driver Austin Kunert swept the Central States Racing Mini-Cup event setting fast time and then winning both the heat and feature race, leading the entire distance.

Kunert was closely chased in the feature by Jordan Caskey and Jaret James with Tyler Brown and Steve Naples rounding out the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, July 14 with the 63rd BestWay Disposal Nation Crown featuring the IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s. The EDCO Welding Street Stocks, G.W. Piece Front Wheel Drives Oval and Thunder Roadsters will also be in action.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.