Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

63rd BestWay Disposal National Crown Featured on Saturday Night

(July 9, 2012) – Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, July 14 with the rich history of 63rd BestWay Disposal National Crown continuing with a new chapter beginning this year. Other divisions in action include McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models and Thunder Roadsters.

The Best Way Disposal National Crown is the longest running continuous stock car race in America. The winner’s list is a who’s who of Figure 8 racing. Last year, Josh Tharp earned his initial victory in the historic event. Recent winners of the National Crown include Tharp (2011), Curtis Chapman (2010, 2001) Nick Warner (2008), Rob Allman (2006) Mike Riddle Jr. (2005), Ronnie Rose (2004), Ronnie Phipps (1998, 2003), and Mark Goettman (2002).

For the first time, the IOFS Outlaw Figure 8’s will sanction the 63rd BestWay Disposal National Crown. This will mark the sixth appearance by the IOFS at Anderson this season. Drivers that have scored feature victories at Anderson this season include Charlie Hargraves (March), Jonny Hargraves (April), Eddie Van Meter (May) and most recently Jonny Hargraves (June).

Josh Poore sits atop the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model division after collecting two consecutive third place finishes. Brandon Phillips ranks in second spot, 45 markers behind Poore. Four top-five finishes have placed Ronnie Rose in fourth with Rob Allman ranking fifth and Fred Hopkins rounding out the top five.

The Thunder Roadsters will compete on the quarter-mile oval for the sixth time this season. Chris Weddle has collected four feature wins while David Lobbia is the most recent winner in the previous event on June 30.

On Saturday, July 14, spectator gates open at 4:30 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.