Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Gallaher Scores Sweep

By Ken de la Bastide

Photo Gallery

(July 30, 2012) –
It was a good night for Don Gallaher during G.W. Pierce Night at the Races at Anderson Speedway last Saturday.

Starting four as a result of the inversion for the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive oval action, Gallaher quickly moved into second following the first lap behind leader Ron Phipps.

Marshall Clark Jr. spun in turn one on the second circuit while running third, but the race stayed green, the incident knocked Clark out of contention for the win.

Gallaher slipped past Phipps on lap three with Nick Warner moving into the second spot by the halfway point.

But there was no catching Gallaher as he went on to beat Warner by 2.8-seconds with Phipps coming home third followed by Trevin Henson and Paul Phipps.

“I’ve finished second many times,” Gallaher said after his first feature win of the year. “It was about time we won one.”

Gallaher set fast time, then went out and won the first heat race, leading the entire distance.

Warner again finished second and Ron Phipps passed Mark Allman for third on lap four with an inside pass entering turn three. Clark finished fifth.

Henson recorded his fifth heat win of the year by moving up through the field.

The early lead was taken by James Peterson chased by Harry Lashure, Henson and Paul Phipps.

Henson passed Lashure on the back straight on lap two and on the next circuit led Phipps underneath Peterson in turn three to claim the top two spots.

Peterson held on to finish third followed by Lashure and James Frawley.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.