Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Kirby Bests Street Stock Field; Rose, Myers Tangle

By Ken de la Bastide

Photo Gallery

(July 30, 2012) –
Indianapolis driver Jimmy Kirby battled Ronnie Rose at the start of the EDCO Welding Street Stock feature, then survived a couple of restarts to record his second feature win of the year.

Starting from the pole position, Kirby and Rose raced side-by-side at the waving of the green flag for two laps before Kirby took control of the race.

With Kirby pulling away there was a good battle for second between Rose, Josh Myers and Josh Poore .

Poore brought out the caution on lap 20 when he spun coming off the second corner while running third. That wiped out a comfortable lead for Kirby and gave Rose and Myers a last chance to fight for the win.

On the restart Rose challenged outside of Kirby for a lap with Myers running a close third followed by Jacob McElfresh and Tom Gossar.

Fireworks erupted on the lap 21 restart when Rose spun on the front straight after contact from Myers. During the caution period, Rose spun Myers, which sent both drivers to the pits.

Poore passed Tom Gossar and Jacob McElfresh following the restart to move into the second spot, but he ran out of laps in an attempt to catch Kirby. McElfresh finished third followed by Gossar and Frankie Oakes.

Kirby recorded his fourth heat win of the year in the first of two preliminary races, passing McElfresh on lap four coming off the second corner.

There was plenty of action among the competitors throughout the race.

McElfresh took the early lead chased by Gossar, Kirby, Rose and Myers. Gossar got caught on the outside and lost positions to Kirby, Rose and Myers in the first two circuits.

Rose passed McElfresh on lap six entering turn four with Poore getting inside of McElfresh on lap nine on the back straight.

Following Kirby to the checkers were Poore and McElfresh.

Frankie Oakes scored his first heat win of the year by passing Andrew Cook and Mike Peters both on lap two to move from third to the lead.

Finishing behind Oakes were Cook, Peters, Jeff Hopkins and Bruce McFall.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.