Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Atkinson Scores Anderson 75 Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(August 13, 2012) –
It would be easy to see why Jason Atkinson might consider Anderson Speedway his favorite track on the CRA Top Speed Fabrication Sportsman schedule.

Atkinson recorded his fourth career victory at Anderson Speedway on Lawrence Lubricants Night at the Races, tying him with Keith Sterkowitz at the tight quarter-mile oval.

It marked the New Castle driver’s third win of the 2012 season and his second this year at Anderson.

Thanks to the inversion of the 12-fastest cars during qualifying, Brian McFadden started on the pole position with Josh Cave sharing the front row.

McFadden took the early lead chased by Cave, Josh Timmerman, Trey Craig and Tommy Cook.

The running order up front got scrambled on lap four when Cook and John Heck both spun in turn three while battling for the fifth position after making contact.

K.C. Spillers, who qualified second quick and started 11th in the Anderson 75, became the driver on the move following the restart. Spillers restarted in sixth and followed Fred Hopkins inside Craig on lap seven and then got inside of Hopkins on lap 15.

But before they could get to turn one, drivers got three wide with the end result being Hopkins and Spillers coming to rest against the turn one wall, both cars were heavily damaged.

On the restart Atkinson was running fifth after starting tenth and began his march to the front. He passed Craig and Timmons by lap 17 to move up to third.

Craig returned the pass on lap 26 entering turn one and stayed in the third spot until slowing on lap 39.

Two caution flags between laps 46 and 50 would provide Atkinson with his opportunity to climb to the front.

On lap 47 following a spin by Royal Scott, Atkinson got inside of Cave going down the back straight to move into the second position. When Timmerman spun in turn four on lap 48 the stage was set.

Atkinson on the high side was able to get around McFadden on the back straight to take over the lead on lap 49 and from there the race stayed green until the checkers waved.

Atkinson won by 1.2-seconds over McFadden, followed by Cave, Dean Cook and Tommy Cook.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.