Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Dossey Sweeps Legends Action, Tune-Up for Fritz/Dietzen Memorial

By Ken de la Bastide

(August 21, 2012) –
In the tune-up for next week’s Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial 100 for the Legends division, Jack Dossey Jr. showed he’s one of the favorites this coming weekend.

Dossey set fast time, won his heat race and led all 25 laps to record his second feature win of the year during Mitch Smith Auto Service Night at Anderson Speedway.

Dossey took the lead at the start chased by Josh Dietz, Kyle Baugh, John Robbins and Rodney Smith.

The first of three caution flags waved on lap three when Chris Hacker spun in turn four, but the front five remained in the same running order following the restart.

Robbins passed Baugh on lap seven using the high line entering turn three. The second caution flag waved when Smith spun on the back straight after contact from the car driven by Aaron Holden while the two were battling for position.

Before another lap could be completed Cody Anderson forced Jarret Alexander high in turn one. Alexander made contact with the outside retaining wall and collected the car of Mike Carroll.

From there Dossey went on to claim the win followed by Dietz, Robbins, Baugh and Jack Dossey III.

“The car was tighter than in the heat race,” Dossey said following the victory. “We didn’t make any adjustments before the feature.”

In the first of two heat races the early lead was claimed by Smith pursued by Robbins and Holden.

Dossey used the low line on lap four to pass Robbins going down the back straight and on the next circuit passed Smith entering turn three.

Robbins made the final pass among the front runners when he slipped inside of Smith entering turn three on lap six.

Dossey was followed to the checkers by Robbins, Smith, Holden and Gerard Miller.

The second heat race started off with a bang when Kathy Campbell made heavy contact with the outside retaining wall in turn two, ending her night of competition.

Dietz took the lead and led the entire way with Baugh passing Hacker on lap three to claim the second position. Hacker, Dossey III and Alexander rounded out the top five.

Dossey Jr. claimed the quick time for the second time this year with a lap of 14.032-seconds to edge Baugh and Robbins.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.