Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Allman Makes It Two In A Row, Tightens Point Race

By Ken de la Bastide

(August 21, 2012) –
Rob Allman used the outside line around early leader Jesse Bilbrey on lap three to capture the WMDH ThunderCar feature and used the win to narrow the gap on point leader Hannah Lundy.

With Allman opening a comfortable lead, Bilbrey, Lundy, Phil Jenkins and Earl Adams II waged a spirited battle for the second position during Mitch Smith Auto Service night at the races at Anderson Speedway.

Several times Lundy looked to the outside of Bilbrey but wasn’t able to make the pass at the checkers, falling half a car length short on the front straight.

For Allman it was his second consecutive win, followed by Bilbrey, Lundy, Jenkins and Adams.

“Always makes it interesting when there are a bunch of Thunder Cars out here,” Allman said of the 14-car field. “It’s fun racing with Hannah (Lundy) for the championship this year.”

Lundy did record her first heat race victory of 2012 after climbing through the field and passing Phil Jenkins with an outside move in turn one.

Pam Neal took the early lead chased by Earl Adams II, Chris Snyder, Bilbrey and Jenkins.

Bilbrey was passed by Jenkins on lap two entering turn three and when entering turn one he was passed by both Lundy and Allman.

On the fourth lap Adams made contact with Neal coming off the fourth corner, causing the Sulphur Springs driver to spin on the front straight. Both Neal and Adams were sent to the tail of the field.

Lundy took advantage of the double file restart to grab the lead from Jenkins, who was passed by Allman on the same lap entering turn four.

At the checkers it was Lundy winning by four-tenths of a second over Allman with Jenkins, Snyder and Neal rounding out the top five.

Ryan Buckner scored his third heat win of the year when he passed Doug Dugger going down the back straight on lap seven.

Early leader Randy Hoppes was black-flagged for turning laps faster than his qualifying time which gave Dugger the lead on lap six.

Following Buckner and Dugger to the checkers were Sammy Hawkins, Hoppes and Dane “the Undertaker” Earlywine.

During qualifications Lundy recorded her eighth fast time of the year with a lap of 14.846-seconds, with Allman and Jenkins close behind.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.