Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Moyes Wins Fifth Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial

(August 25, 2012) – Tennessee driver David Moyes III loves to race at Anderson Speedway and it showed Saturday when he won his fifth consecutive Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial race for the Legends division.

It took Moyes 31 laps to climb from the fifth starting position to the lead, but it wasn’t an easy win as fast qualifier Jack Dossey Jr. stayed glued on his tail.

Alexandria driver John Robbins took the lead at the start followed by Aaron Holden and Josh Dietz.

Moyes moved into the fifth spot on lap two and two laps later he and Dossey climbed into the third and fourth positions.

He adverted a possible disaster on lap 19 when he tried to pass a lapped car on the back straight and almost made contact entering turn three.

Second place running Holden made contact with the outside wall on the front straight on lap 25 which put Moyes in position to challenge for the lead.

Moyes took command of the race on lap 31 when he slipped inside of Robbins entering turn three. A lap later Dossey moved into the second spot by passing Robbins on the front straight.

Although at times Dossey was running faster laps than Moyes on the track, closing to within a car length with ten laps remaining. With five laps remaining the two front runners were running nose to tail before Moyes pulled away getting the win by 1.28-seconds.

Robbins held on for third followed by Kyle Baugh with Gerad Miller rounding out the top five.

The race was red flagged on lap 42 when Jack Dossey III spun on the back straight and Marty Griffin, with nowhere to go made heavy contact with Dossey’s car. Both drivers were uninjured in the crash. Dossey was running fifth at the time and Griffin was in the seventh spot.

Ronnie Rose passed Jeff Williams on lap five for the lead to record his first win of the 2012 season in the McGunegill Engine Late Models.

Rose held off Danny Trent for 29 laps to record the victory with fast qualifier Josh Poore settling for third after closing on the two leaders over the final 12 laps.

Jimmy Kirby used the inside line entering turn one to take the top spot from Jacob McElfresh to record his third feature win of the year in the EDCO Welding Street Stock division.

Jeff Hopkins took the early lead but on lap seven drifted high entering turn two, which allowed both McElfresh and Kirby to claim the top two spots.

Hannah Lundy recorded her second feature win in the WMDH Thunder Car division when leader Rob Allman tangled with a lapped car on the final lap in turn three.

Allman had a comfortable lead on the final lap when he decided to try and split two lapped cars entering turn three. Allman was pushed high causing him to slow, which allowed Lundy to take the top spot. Allman finished second followed by Chris Snyder.

James Edsall took advantage of a bobble by leader Dave Lobbia on lap 21 to grab the top spot with Chris Weddel following closely in his tire tracks to the finish to score his first Thunder Roadster win of the year.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, September 1 with the Culver's Labor Day Extravaganza presented by MAX 93.5/96.7 FM. The racing program will feature Outlaw Figure 8's, Super Karts, G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8's, Spectator Races, Cork Screw Race and Culver's Trailer Race.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.