Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Lundy Gets Second WMDH ThunderCar Win; Allman Stymied on Final Lap

Ken de la Bastide

(August 27, 2012) –
Defending WMDH Thunder Car champion Hannah Lundy was ready to accept a runner-up finish last Saturday, but a change of fate brought her a second feature win of the season.

Rob Allman opened up a comfortable lead over Lundy after taking the lead from Chris Synder on lap two with an outside pass entering turn three.

Even following a restart on lap nine after Earl Adams II lost the right front tire on the front straight, Allman pulled away from Lundy on each lap.

But an apparent lack of patience cost Allman is bid for a third consecutive feature win. On the last lap Allman made the decision to split two slower cars entering turn three on the final lap.

As the meat in the three-wide sandwich entering turn three, Allman was forced up the track and made contact with Pam Neal. When Neal spun, Allman was forced to slow which allowed Lundy to drive underneath for the win.

Allman finished second followed by Snyder, Randy Hoppes and Nathan Greene.

As has become her custom, Lundy celebrated her feature victory by climbing on the roof of her car.

“I was planning on finishing second,” Lundy said. “It was the luck of the draw tonight.”

Allman won the first heat race by passing Neal on lap eight with an inside move on the back straight. On the final lap Neal spun in turn two and collected the cars of Lundy and Adams.

Snyder followed Allman to the checkers with Neal credited with a third place finish.

In the second heat race Randy Hoppes led the entire distance to record his second win of the year. Austin Russell finished second.

Lundy set fast time during qualifications for the eighth time in 2012 with a lap of 14.685-seconds, with Allman second quick at 14.845-seconds.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.