Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Rose Wins CRA Late Model Sportsman Tilt; Allman Scores WMDH ThunderCar Victory

By Ken de la Bastide

(September 8, 2012) –
Ronnie Rose won his first CRA race by inches over Mark Lambert as the two battled over the final three laps for the victory in the Anderson 75 at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.

Rose and Lambert raced side by side for the final three laps with Rose holding the low line and Lambert attempting to make the pass on the outside on Gold and Coin of Indiana night.

At the checkers Rose won by .037 seconds over Lambert. The two cars crashed past the finish line and came to a stop in turn one.

Lambert recovered to finish second after being sent to the tail on lap 19 while battling with Bob Sibila Jr. for the lead.

Rose took the lead on lap 25 from Jeff Williams with an inside pass entering turn three.

“It was some awesome side by side racing,” Rose said following the victory. It was Rose’s first victory in the CRA Top Speed Fabrication Late Model Sportsman series.

Greg Van Alst came home in third following by Tommy Cook and Dean Cook.

There were two cautions in the last five laps of the race. First Jeff Williams spun in turn two while running fifth on lap 71 and a lap later Trey Craig got collected on the back straight while battling for the top spot with Rose and Lambert.

Bob Sibila Jr. and Mark Lambert battled side by side for five laps fighting for the lead. The two swapped the lead several times before they made contact in turn two. Sibila spun and both drivers were sent to the tail of the field.

Sibila’s night came to an end on lap 50 when he made contact with the outside retaining wall on the front straight during a restart.

The point’s race got shaken up on lap three with just two racing remaining to determine a champion.

The red-flag waved on lap three involving five cars including point leader Jason Atkinson and his closest rival, K.C. Spillers. Both drivers were able to continue after making repairs.

The incident started when Robert Amos Jr. spun in turn three while running fourth and collected the five cars behind him.

All season long defending WMDH Thunder Car champion Hannah Lundy and Rob Allman have been battling for the 2012 title.

Helped with an inversion of half the field, Allman took the lead at the start with Lundy running fourth after one lap.

On lap two Lundy used the outside groove to pass Earl Adams II to move into the third position and three laps later again used the high line to get around Rose for second.

The caution flag waved on lap 14 when Ryan Buckner rolled to a stop on the front straight. Allman was able to retain the lead on the restart.

From there Allman opened a comfortable lead over Lundy to record his third feature win of the year followed by Lundy and Rose.

Kevin Henson inherited the lead on lap ten when Elliott McKinney slammed the turn three wall after taking the lead from Donnie Ellis Jr. on lap seven.

Ellis took the early lead from McKinney with an inside move entering turn three on the second circuit. Coming down the front straight, McKinney tapped the rear of Ellis’s car, sending him sliding through the infield, but holding onto third.

With Henson driving a new car, he scored his first feature win. Ellis finished second followed by Mike Alley.

Anderson Speedway returns to action with a two day double header set for Saturday, September 15 and Sunday, September 16. On Saturday, September 15, the AERCO Heating & Cooling Night at the Races will showcase CRA Street Stocks, WMDH ThunderCars, G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives Oval, Legends and Thunder Roadsters.

On Sunday, September 16 the Culver's Extravaganza / Anderson Speedway’s 65th Anniversary Party presented by MAX 93.5/96.7 FM will take place. The racing program will feature Outlaw Figure 8's, Super Karts, G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8's, Spectator Races, Culver's Trailer Race plus a Huge Fireworks Show.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.