Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Kirby Dominates Anderson 75; Allman Gets Fourth WMDH ThunderCar Victory

(September 15, 2012) –  Indianapolis driver Jimmy Kirby led the final 58 laps to record his first Champion Racing Association Street Stock win of the season.

With the win Kirby took over the point lead from Brian Hopkins with just two races remaining on AERCO Heating and Cooling night at Anderson Speedway.

Following a bundle of cautions through the first 16 laps of the race, the final 59 laps ran caution free.

Kirby took the lead on lap seven from Hopkins with an outside move on the front straight. He survived a caution when Dennis Hill spun on the back straight.

The caution flag waved for a second time on lap 12 when Calvin Parham appeared to break a suspension part entering turn three and collected T.J. Flynn and Andrew Cook.

Kirby used the outside line on the restart to maintain the lead over Hopkins with Ronnie Rose running third at the time. Rose used a power move on lap 12 to drive around Parham and Hopkins.

On lap 16 Eddie Wolf and Hopkins got together on the back straight while battling for third. Wolf spun into the infield and Hopkins continued but lost multiple spots.

Kirby went to the low groove for the restart and swapped the lead with Rose for a couple of laps before taking control of the race.

With Kirby and Rose running nose to tail, Dustin Burge closed and became a factor for the run to the checkers.

Over the final ten laps Kirby pulled away to win by 2.9-seconds over Rose, who held off Burge. Hopkins recovered to finish fourth when fast qualifier J.J. Schafer suffered a mechanical problem. Leading rookie of the year contender Tyler Marsh finished fifth.

Rob Allman continued his hot streak by winning the WMDH ThunderCar feature for the four time in the past five races.

Allman inherited the lead on lap 15 when early leader Earl Adams II suddenly slowed in turn three.

Once Allman took over the top spot he was able to open a comfortable gap over Phil Jenkins and point leader Hannah Lundy. Eddie Martin finished fourth followed by Ryan Buckner.

With one race remaining to determine the season championship in the WMDH ThunderCar division, Allman closed to within a few points of Lundy.

Jack Dossey Jr. celebrated his 2012 championship in the Legends Division with his fourth feature win of the year.

Dossey was able to get inside of Mickey Kudlicki on lap 17 to take the top spot and went on to record the victory.

Kudlicki was never more than a couple of car lengths off the rear bumper of Dossey’s car all the way to the finish. Fast qualifier Kyle Baugh finished third.

Ron Phipps took the lead on the second lap with an outside move of Paul Phipps in a race that was slowed five times by cautions and had two drivers black-flagged for rough driving.

Trevin Henson and Elliott McKinney finished second and third in the G.W. Pierce Auto Parts Front Wheel Drive Oval Division.

Darrell Brown led all 25 laps to win the Thunder Roadsters feature with Chris Weddel closing at the finish, but coming up short. David Lobbia came home in third.

On Sunday, September 16 the Culver's Extravaganza / Anderson Speedway’s 65th Anniversary Party presented by MAX 93.5/96.7 FM will take place. The racing program will feature Outlaw Figure 8's, Super Karts, G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8's, Spectator Races, Culver's Trailer Race plus a Huge Fireworks Show.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.