Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Ron Phipps Wins Caution Filled Feature

By Ken de la Bastide

(September 16, 2012) – 
The G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive oval feature provided fans on AERCO Heating & Cooling Night at Anderson Speedway plenty of action.

There were five caution flags in the first three laps, two drivers were black-flagged for rough driving, and through it all Ron Phipps kept his cool and the lead to record the victory.

Before the race started James Frawley spun in turn two in front of the whole field, but there was no contact.

Paul Phipps took the lead at the start chased by Ron and Ronnie Phipps when the yellow flag waved on lap two when Tim Yarberry and Harry Lashure mixed it up in turn one.

Lashure was finished for the night for rough driving.

Ron Phipps took the lead from Paul Phipps on the restart when Frawley spun on the back straight, bumped Yarberry who stopped and was hit by Mike Harrod.

It took two more attempts for the drivers to get past the third lap. First Marshal Clark Jr. and Ronnie Phipps tangled in turn two, with Phipps going airborne and hitting the outside retaining wall.

Then Paul Phipps was black-flagged for rough driving after making contact with Trevin Henson on the front straight.

Ron Phipps led the rest of the way with Henson passing Elliott McKinney on lap 17 to claim the second spot.

There was good racing in the first heat race with Paul Phipps and Clark racing side-by-side for the lead before Phipps took control on lap six and recorded his third win of the year.

McKinney finished second followed by Henson, Clark and Ron Phipps.

Ronnie Phipps won for the second time in 2012 in the second heat race, taking the lead from Lasure on lap three with an outside move on the back straight. Yarberry finished second with Jesse Thomas rounding out the top three.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.