Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Brown Gets Initial Thunder Roadster Win

By Ken de la Bastide

(September 16, 2012) – 
It was a good night for Darrell Brown in Thunder Roadster action at Anderson Speedway as the Indianapolis driver scored his first feature win of the year.

Brown set fast time during qualifications and led all 25 laps to win the feature, holding off a closing Chris Weddel over the final half of the race.

Brown jumped into the lead chased by Marty Griffin and Scott McGinley with Weddel running fifth after five laps.

Weddel passed John Robbins for third on lap five and then got inside of Griffin on lap nine to run second.

Another driver on the move was David Lobbia who passed Robbins on lap ten to move into fourth and Grffin on lap 15 going down the back straight.

One the final ten laps Weddel was cutting into Brown’s lead, but with three laps remaining the leader again pulled away to win by 2-seconds. Lobbia was third with Griffin and Josh Carroll completing the top five.

Scott McGinley led from start to finish winning the heat race followed by Robbins and Weddel.

Weddel passed Carroll on lap four, Brown on lap seven and Griffin on the last lap to claim the last podium spot. Brown finished fourth followed by Griffin.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.