Follow AndersonSpeedwy on Twitter

Rose Makes It A Three Peat, Poore Crowned Champion; Kirby Captures Street Stock Champion

(September 22, 2012) – Ronnie Rose finished the year with three wins in the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Model Division on Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

Rose led all 40 laps on Ed Martin Auto Mall Championship night with Jeff Marcum and Josh Poore battling for the second position the entire race distance.

Several times Poore attempted to get inside of Marcum, but was not able to complete the pass as Marcum held his racing line.

Jeff Williams, who started seventh in the feature, used the outside line on lap seven to pass Brandon Phillips and seven laps later used a similar move to move into the fourth spot by getting around Rob Allman.

Poore’s third place finish was enough to lock up the season championship when Brandon Phillips finished sixth.

Rose won the last two McGunegill races and the CRA Sportsman race last month.

“We set out to win tonight and we were able to do that,” Rose said.

Poore, who’s grandfather, Leonard, passed away on Friday, dedicated the championship year to his grandfather.

Poore won the championship despite not winning a feature race in 2012, but never finished worse than 12th. He was the 2011 Street Stock champion.

Indianapolis driver put an exclamation point on an incredible season in the EDCO Welding Street Stock Division, assured of the championship entering racing action, he collected his fourth consecutive win of the year.

Kirby set quick time, won the heat race, and jumped into the lead at the start of the 40-lap feature. He was pressed for much of the race by Ronnie Rose, who was never able to mount a charge for the point.

Over the final five laps Kirby opened up some breathing room over Rose with Tyler Marsh finishing third.

It marked Kirby’s first championship at Anderson Speedway and he intends to return in 2013 to defend his title.

“Have to thank all the guys that helped me this year,” Kirby said. “Kind of fun to win the championship.”

Jerry Dane used the outline line on the last lap entering turn three to pass Marshall Clark Jr. to record his sixth feature win of the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval Division feature.

Clark took the lead from the start with Dane running fifth after the first lap. Dane used the outside lane to work his way toward the front and took advantage of a lapped car to get around Clark.

Kevin Henson won his third consecutive Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature leading the entire distance followed by Elliott McKinney and Mark Allman.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, September 29th with The Herald Bulletin Night at the Races. Feature divisions include H.O.S.S. Winged Sprint Cars, WMDH ThunderCars along with G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives Oval & Figure 8's.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.